Parris Glendening on Crime

Former Democratic MD Governor

Issues moratorium on the death penalty

Glendening issued a moratorium on the death penalty in Maryland. Justice is thus delayed in the matter of Wesley Baker [a black death-row inmate convicted of murdering a white female]. Glendening is supported by Kathleen Kennedy Townsend.

The timing of Glendening’s “noble” announcement simply does not pass the smell test. Glendening could have imposed the moratorium at any time during his eight years as governor. Somehow, the governor’s conscience on the matter isn’t piqued until an election year, and just four days after Townsend officially announced her candidacy.

[Critics] believe Glendening imposed the moratorium at Townsend’s request, that this whole farce is her 2002 version of playing the “race card” the Democrats played in the 1998 smear campaign against Republican gubernatorial candidate Ellen Sauerbrey. [One critic says,] “It’s Townsend’s way of saying that anyone who opposes her moratorium has a ‘shameful record on civil rights.’”

Source: Gregory Kane, Baltimore Sun Op-Ed , May 15, 2002

Supports flexible federal block grants for crime programs.

Glendening adopted the National Governors Association position paper:

The Issue

NGA’s Position

Source: National Governors Association "Issues / Positions" 01-NGA10 on Sep 14, 2001

Other governors on Crime: Parris Glendening on other issues:
MD Gubernatorial:
Martin O`Malley
MD Senatorial:
Barbara Mikulski
Benjamin Cardin

Newly seated 2010:
NJ Chris Christie
VA Bob McDonnell

Term-limited as of Jan. 2011:
AL Bob Riley
CA Arnold Schwarzenegger
GA Sonny Perdue
HI Linda Lingle
ME John Baldacci
MI Jennifer Granholm
NM Bill Richardson
OK Brad Henry
OR Ted Kulongoski
PA Ed Rendell
RI Donald Carcieri
SC Mark Sanford
SD Mike Rounds
TN Phil Bredesen
WY Dave Freudenthal
Newly Elected Nov. 2010:
AL: Robert Bentley (R)
CA: Jerry Brown (D)
CO: John Hickenlooper (D)
CT: Dan Malloy (D)
FL: Rick Scott (R)
GA: Nathan Deal (R)
HI: Neil Abercrombie (D)
IA: Terry Branstad (R)
KS: Sam Brownback (R)
ME: Paul LePage (R)
MI: Rick Snyder (R)
MN: Mark Dayton (D)
ND: Jack Dalrymple (R)
NM: Susana Martinez (R)
NV: Brian Sandoval (R)
NY: Andrew Cuomo (D)
OH: John Kasich (R)
OK: Mary Fallin (R)
PA: Tom Corbett (R)
RI: Lincoln Chafee (I)
SC: Nikki Haley (R)
SD: Dennis Daugaard (R)
TN: Bill Haslam (R)
VT: Peter Shumlin (D)
WI: Scott Walker (R)
WY: Matt Mead (R)
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Social Security
Tax Reform


Page last updated: Nov 23, 2011