John Hoeven on Education

Republican ND Governor

Moment of silence, or prayer, ok in public schools

Q: Do you support voluntary prayer in public schools?

A: Yes.

Q: Do you support a moment of silence in public schools?

A: Yes.

Source: Gubernatorial North Dakota 2008 Political Courage Test , Nov 1, 2008

$3,500 salary increase for teachers

I proposed a $3,500 boost in compensation for teachers over two years. This is vital for retaining our good teachers and keeping the high quality of our schools. It represents a bold new approach for education, fully paid for within our budget. It takes the pressure off local property taxes, and gives school boards the flexibility they need. Itís a big step, but a necessary investment in our children, the future quality of our workforce, and ultimately, the economic vitality of our state.
Source: 2001 Inaugural Address , Jan 9, 2001

Challenge Grant matching funds for university research

Through research and development, innovation and workforce training, higher education has a major role to play in our economic development efforts. We have added Challenge Grant funding to the budget to help our universities access matching funds from federal programs and private industry. The budget also includes funding for innovative scholarships for students and faculty alike to encourage them to pursue more math, science and technology-based degrees.
Source: 2001 Inaugural Address , Jan 9, 2001

Other governors on Education: John Hoeven on other issues:
ND Gubernatorial:
Jack Dalrymple

Newly seated 2010:
NJ Chris Christie
VA Bob McDonnell

Term-limited as of Jan. 2011:
AL Bob Riley
CA Arnold Schwarzenegger
GA Sonny Perdue
HI Linda Lingle
ME John Baldacci
MI Jennifer Granholm
NM Bill Richardson
OK Brad Henry
OR Ted Kulongoski
PA Ed Rendell
RI Donald Carcieri
SC Mark Sanford
SD Mike Rounds
TN Phil Bredesen
WY Dave Freudenthal
Newly Elected Nov. 2010:
AL: Robert Bentley (R)
CA: Jerry Brown (D)
CO: John Hickenlooper (D)
CT: Dan Malloy (D)
FL: Rick Scott (R)
GA: Nathan Deal (R)
HI: Neil Abercrombie (D)
IA: Terry Branstad (R)
KS: Sam Brownback (R)
ME: Paul LePage (R)
MI: Rick Snyder (R)
MN: Mark Dayton (D)
ND: Jack Dalrymple (R)
NM: Susana Martinez (R)
NV: Brian Sandoval (R)
NY: Andrew Cuomo (D)
OH: John Kasich (R)
OK: Mary Fallin (R)
PA: Tom Corbett (R)
RI: Lincoln Chafee (I)
SC: Nikki Haley (R)
SD: Dennis Daugaard (R)
TN: Bill Haslam (R)
VT: Peter Shumlin (D)
WI: Scott Walker (R)
WY: Matt Mead (R)
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Social Security
Tax Reform

Contact info:
Fax number:

Page last updated: Nov 23, 2011