Dave Freudenthal on Social Security

Democratic WY Governor

$48M for state retirement fund, but employees must pay more

The change in the economy compels us over time to require state employees to make a greater contribution to the retirement fund. What I did in my budget was to acknowledge we will need more money. I put aside $48 million. We can figure out over the next year the right structure, the right mix, between added funds from the State and added funds from the employees.

But there are some other assumptions that I think need to be evaluated over the next year. One is that ours is a fixed benefit plan, and we have had a habit of taking a fixed benefit plan and inserting cost of living increases. We need to assess whether that makes sense and whether we need to reevaluate the structure of the plan and the role of the employee.

I do not take grave exception with the proposition state employees are going to have to pay more. What I am worried about is we have headed off on a course of action and do not have a strategy.

Source: Wyoming 2010 State of the State Address , Feb 8, 2010

Other governors on Social Security: Dave Freudenthal on other issues:
WY Gubernatorial:
Matt Mead
WY Senatorial:
John Barrasso
Michael Enzi

Newly seated 2010:
NJ Chris Christie
VA Bob McDonnell

Term-limited as of Jan. 2011:
AL Bob Riley
CA Arnold Schwarzenegger
GA Sonny Perdue
HI Linda Lingle
ME John Baldacci
MI Jennifer Granholm
NM Bill Richardson
OK Brad Henry
OR Ted Kulongoski
PA Ed Rendell
RI Donald Carcieri
SC Mark Sanford
SD Mike Rounds
TN Phil Bredesen
WY Dave Freudenthal
Newly Elected Nov. 2010:
AL: Robert Bentley (R)
CA: Jerry Brown (D)
CO: John Hickenlooper (D)
CT: Dan Malloy (D)
FL: Rick Scott (R)
GA: Nathan Deal (R)
HI: Neil Abercrombie (D)
IA: Terry Branstad (R)
KS: Sam Brownback (R)
ME: Paul LePage (R)
MI: Rick Snyder (R)
MN: Mark Dayton (D)
ND: Jack Dalrymple (R)
NM: Susana Martinez (R)
NV: Brian Sandoval (R)
NY: Andrew Cuomo (D)
OH: John Kasich (R)
OK: Mary Fallin (R)
PA: Tom Corbett (R)
RI: Lincoln Chafee (I)
SC: Nikki Haley (R)
SD: Dennis Daugaard (R)
TN: Bill Haslam (R)
VT: Peter Shumlin (D)
WI: Scott Walker (R)
WY: Matt Mead (R)
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Social Security
Tax Reform

Contact info:

Page last updated: Nov 21, 2011