Christine Gregoire on Principles & Values

Democratic WA Governor

2004 recount battle determined by absentee ballots

A certain number of Absentee Voter (AV) envelopes are always rejected. Most are rejected for valid reasons, e.g., the envelope is post-marked after the election or there is no voter signature. However, sometimes AV ballots are rejected for reasons that are not valid.

There was a presumption in the Franken camp that Coleman would engage in the same sort of absentee-ballot pursuit. But in years past, absentee voters, often older, tilted toward the Republicans.

The next day, the absentee-ballot universe was raised in a conference call of the still-forming Franken legal team. [One attorney] recalled how absentee ballots helped Christine Gregoire, Washington's governor, in her 2004 recount and election contest. The absentees flipped Gregoire's results and her reelection over Republican Dino Rossi. "Go for the absentees," he told his colleagues on the call. "Trust me, they screwed it up. People's signatures change. They get strokes." Stuff happens. Voters mess up. So do election officials.

Source: This Is Not Florida, by Jay Weiner, p. 19-21 , Sep 16, 2010

Other governors on Principles & Values: Christine Gregoire on other issues:
WA Gubernatorial:
Howard Schultz
Jay Inslee
WA Senatorial:
Maria Cantwell
Patty Murray

Newly elected Nov. 2012:
IN: Mike Pence (R)
NC: Pat McCrory (R)
NH: Maggie Hassan (D)
MT: Steve Bullock (D)
WA: Jay Inslee (D)

Re-elected 2012:
DE: Jack Markell (D)
MO: Jay Nixon (D)
ND: Jack Dalrymple (R)
UT: Gary Herbert (R)
VT: Peter Shumlin (D)
WI: Scott Walker (R)
WV: Earl Ray Tomblin (D)

Up for re-election 2013:
NJ: Chris Christie
VA: Bob McDonnell
Up for re-election 2014:
AK: Sean Parnell
AL: Robert Bentley
AR: Mike Beebe
AZ: Jan Brewer
CA: Jerry Brown
CO: John Hickenlooper
CT: Dan Malloy
FL: Rick Scott
GA: Nathan Deal
HI: Neil Abercrombie
IA: Terry Branstad
ID: Butch Otter
IL: Pat Quinn
KS: Sam Brownback
MA: Deval Patrick
MD: Martin O'Malley
ME: Paul LePage
MI: Rick Snyder
MN: Mark Dayton
NH: Maggie Hassan
NM: Susana Martinez
NV: Brian Sandoval
NY: Andrew Cuomo
OH: John Kasich
OK: Mary Fallin
OR: John Kitzhaber
PA: Tom Corbett
RI: Linc Chafee
SC: Nikki Haley
SD: Dennis Daugaard
TN: Bill Haslam
TX: Rick Perry
VT: Peter Shumlin
WI: Scott Walker
WY: Matt Mead
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Social Security
Tax Reform

Contact info:
Email Contact Form
Search for...

Page last updated: Apr 25, 2013