Bob Holden on Crime

Former Democratic MO Governor

Lower drunk driving limit to .08

Right now, in Missouri, the blood alcohol content for being arrested as a drunk driver is .10, even though all the evidence shows that a driver is substantially impaired at the .08 level.An analysis of the first five states that lowered the blood alcohol limit to .08 revealed significant decreases in fatal crashes related to alcohol in four out of the five. The tremendous toll in human life and suffering our higher blood alcohol content law is causing should be more than sufficient reason to lower the legal limit. And federal authorities are also sending us a signal of how important they feel this issue is. We are losing federal incentive money for our highways by not adopting .08. We would be receiving an additional $3 million every year now. If we donít pass a .08 law by October 1, 2003, we will be paying a sanction in the neighborhood of $8 million-a penalty that increases to $32 million in 2007 if we still havenít passed the bill. Letís make it happen this year.
Source: 2001 State of the State speech in Missouri House Chambers , Jan 30, 2001

Supports flexible federal block grants for crime programs.

Holden adopted the National Governors Association position paper:

The Issue

NGAís Position

Source: National Governors Association "Issues / Positions" 01-NGA10 on Sep 14, 2001

Other governors on Crime: Bob Holden on other issues:
MO Gubernatorial:
Jay Nixon
MO Senatorial:
Claire McCaskill
Roy Blunt

Newly seated 2010:
NJ Chris Christie
VA Bob McDonnell

Term-limited as of Jan. 2011:
AL Bob Riley
CA Arnold Schwarzenegger
GA Sonny Perdue
HI Linda Lingle
ME John Baldacci
MI Jennifer Granholm
NM Bill Richardson
OK Brad Henry
OR Ted Kulongoski
PA Ed Rendell
RI Donald Carcieri
SC Mark Sanford
SD Mike Rounds
TN Phil Bredesen
WY Dave Freudenthal
Newly Elected Nov. 2010:
AL: Robert Bentley (R)
CA: Jerry Brown (D)
CO: John Hickenlooper (D)
CT: Dan Malloy (D)
FL: Rick Scott (R)
GA: Nathan Deal (R)
HI: Neil Abercrombie (D)
IA: Terry Branstad (R)
KS: Sam Brownback (R)
ME: Paul LePage (R)
MI: Rick Snyder (R)
MN: Mark Dayton (D)
ND: Jack Dalrymple (R)
NM: Susana Martinez (R)
NV: Brian Sandoval (R)
NY: Andrew Cuomo (D)
OH: John Kasich (R)
OK: Mary Fallin (R)
PA: Tom Corbett (R)
RI: Lincoln Chafee (I)
SC: Nikki Haley (R)
SD: Dennis Daugaard (R)
TN: Bill Haslam (R)
VT: Peter Shumlin (D)
WI: Scott Walker (R)
WY: Matt Mead (R)
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Social Security
Tax Reform

Search for...

Page last updated: Nov 21, 2011